Georgia police recently went undercover as construction workers.

On Tuesday, July 16, officers in Cobb County, Georgia, handed over 60 tickets in just three hours while dressed in traffic-sign yellow according to WSB.

“They’re looking for direct violations,” Sydney Melton told the Cobb County Police Department, “So, this can be someone texting on their phone or people playing on social media.”

In the Hands-Free Law’s first year, the Georgia State Patrol handed out tickets to almost 25,000 people.

Police said they’re seeing so many accidents and deaths caused by distracted driving.

“The phone mounted on your dash or windshield, that’s OK. In your hand is not OK,” Melton said.

The first offense comes with a $50 fine for the second offense up to $100 and $150 for the third offense.

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.