With children returning to classes and school buses once again tasked with taking students safely to and from school one mother in Houston, Texas, is sharing a video of her little girl nearly being hit by a car whose driver ignored a red school bus stop sign.

Josephine Kirk-Taylor was standing on the sidewalk as she waited for her daughter, 5-year-old Melina, to arrive home from her second day of kindergarten on Wednesday, Aug. 28, according to KHOU11 News.

Kirk-Taylor was taking cellphone video with Melina’s younger siblings standing next to her when the school bus pulled over across the street.

The mother thought the school bus would stop on the same side of the street where she was standing. But it didn’t.

In the video, the little girl getting off the school bus and starting to cross the street when a blue Toyota car blows past, ignoring the red school bus stop sign and flashing light.

As Melina was about to cross, Kirk-Taylor saw the car coming and screamed “No! Wait, wait wait! Stop!”

The driver of the blue car does not appear in the video to hit the brakes as the car continues down the street and the video ends.

“He didn’t slow down, whatsoever,” Kirk-Taylor said. “After this incident, didn’t stop to ask if my daughter was okay or anything. And that’s what hurt me the most because it could have ended very differently and you had no concern for my child.”

The video captured the driver’s license plate as it zoomed by.

Kirk-Taylor called Houston police and gave them the information.

But, even with license plate information, there’s no way to positively identify who may have been behind the wheel.

Generally, an officer needs to see someone illegally pass a school bus in order to cite them.

Thursday afternoon, Aug. 29, Kirk-Taylor was there to greet little Melina and walk her across the street when she got off the bus.

“My heart is still like, um, pumping so fast from what happened,” Kirk-Taylor told KHOU.

According to Texas law, drivers have to stop when a school bus extends its stop sign or when it turns on its flashing red lights.

In Texas, breaking these laws will land you a fine up to $1,250 and, unlike other traffic tickets, it can’t be taken away with defensive driving classes.

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.