Abortion in New Hampshire is legal up to the 24th week of pregnancy, according to a new law that goes into effect from the beginning of 2022.

Under the law, the state will prohibit abortion after 24 weeks of gestation, and legal abortion will have to undergo an ultrasound to determine the fetus’s age.

The law provides no exceptions except for the mother’s life or physical health. In addition, it includes criminal penalties for health care providers and allows the father married to the mother to sue a health care provider for violating the law.

Gov. Chris Sununu signed the law in June 2021 as part of the state budget.

According to The Associated Press, Democrats have already drafted a bill seeking to repeal the new restrictions and establish state-level protection for abortion access. Some even want to include the right to make reproductive medical decisions a constitutional right.

The new law in New Hampshire comes as Republican lawmakers across the United States are ready to restrict further or ban abortions while congressional Democrats are seeking to ensure access to abortion in their state law.

Some other new laws also take effect across the United States from the first day of 2022, such as minimum wage increases, animal protection, police reform, and tax increases.

Regarding the minimum wage, California has become the first state to require a $15-an-hour minimum wage for businesses with more than 25 employees.

More than 20 other states have also raised their minimum wage to less than $15.

Regarding police reform, numerous states have passed new criminal justice laws in 2021, which becomes effective in the new year, according to the AP.

In Illinois, a law standardizes certification of police officers and allows for decertifying officers for repeated errant or unethical behavior, instead of only when they are convicted of a crime.

In North Carolina, law enforcement recruits now must receive psychological screenings by a licensed psychologist to determine their suitability for the job before they can work as an officer or deputy.

In Oregon, a new law requires a police officer who witnesses another officer engaging in misconduct or violating the state’s minimum moral fitness standards to report it to a supervisor within 72 hours. In addition, a police agency must complete an investigation within three months and report findings of misconduct that rise above minor violations to the state.

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.