The United Nations held an emergency special session. They overwhelmingly passed a historic resolution, 141-5, condemning Russia’s deadly invasion of Ukraine and demanding its immediate withdrawal of troops, Fox News reported on March 2.

The resolution has no legal authority but can be seen as a symbol of global unity against Russia, as only five of the 181 countries present at the vote opposed it.

The United States and 141 other countries supported the resolution, while 35 countries, including China, Cuba, and Iran, abstained. Russia, Belarus, Eritrea, North Korea, and Syria voted against it.

The United States, Canada, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, and dozens of European countries have imposed many tough sanctions on Russian banks, businesses, Putin, the Russian government, and Russian elites in response to the deadly invasion.

Fox News reported that the spokesman for China’s Foreign Ministry, Wang Webin said on March 2 that it would not consider sanctions for Russia’s illegal invasion of Ukraine, and said it would continue “normal trade cooperation.”

Before the vote, U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Linda Thomas-Greenfield described the first such emergency session of the UN in 40 years as an “extraordinary moment.”

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky, who chose to stay in Ukraine, praised the UN General Assembly resolution and said the vote “convincingly show that a global anti-Putin coalition has been formed and is functioning.”

China’s banking regulator also said on March 2 that China would not impose financial sanctions on Russia.

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.